CTE_Month_logo_2017_fullcolor_TPgroundhog_logo (1)-02 (2)

 

 

ESC Region 12 and the HOT P-20 Council celebrates February as Career and Technical Education Month, as well as, the kick -off of Groundhog Job Shadowing. Students and faculty in Region 12 will join others across the nation during the month of February to celebrate national CTE month. This year’s tagline is Celebrate Today, Own Tomorrow! CTE Month provides CTE programs across the country an opportunity to demonstrate how CTE makes students college and career ready and prepares them for high-wage, high-skill, and high-demand career fields. School districts are encouraged to promote CTE programs and give their students the opportunity to job shadow during the month of February. February 2nd is groundhog day and a perfect day to job shadow.

“The activities planned over the nex month will illustrate the rigor and relevance of CTE courses offer our students,” said Fred Hills, Chair of the HOT P-2 Council.  “By partnering with the business community, CTE programs are investing in students and providing them with the latest technology and skills that will prepare them to become successful employees and future leaders”

CTE is a major part of the solution to a myriad of national economic and workforce problems, such as high school dropout rates, a weakened economy, global competitiveness and massive layoffs. At a time when the opportunity for employment is so critical, CTE programs in every community are ensuring students are equipped with the skills to successfully enter the workforce.

Members of the Greater Waco Chamber of Commerce have expressed interest in hosting high school students in the workplace for shadowing experiences. The list of members and contacts are listed below. The HOT P-20 Council has provided materials for school districts and employers to utilize for Job Shadowing.

click here

Groundhog Shadowing Day Employers
Technology for Education, Terri Anderson, teri.anderson@tfeconnect.com
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Kary Lalani, kary.lalani@lalanilodging.com
Englander, Hal Whitaker, HWhitaker@englanderdzp.com
Texas Document Solutions, Alfred Solano, asolano@teximgsys.com
HEB, Bill Davenport,davenport.bill@heb.com
Jim Bland Construction, Scott Bland, dsbland@yahoo.com
Waco City Council, Jim Holmes, jim.holmes@wacotx.gov
Oncor, Michael Baldwin, Michael.Baldwin@oncor.com
Capstone Mechanical, Rick Tullis, rtullis@capstonemechanical.com
Allen Samuels, Ted Teague, tteague@asag.net
Regent Care, Tammy Streeter, tstreeter@regentcare.biz
McLennan Community College, Fred Hills, fhills@mclennan.edu

Please share your CTE program initiatives and job shadowing successes to cholecek@esc12.net

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *